Skip to content ↓
Goonhavern Pre-SchoolGoonhavern Primary School

Our Curriculum

In Class R we follow the statutory framework for the early years foundation stage. This framework sets the standards for learning, development and care for children from birth to five. 

The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development.  Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development that are interconnected. Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first.

These prime areas are particularly important for building a foundation for igniting children's curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, forming relationships and thriving.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas.

Prime areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

Specific areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning experiences. The professionals teaching and supporting your child will make sure that the experiences and learning opportunities are suited to your child’s unique needs and interests.