Skip to content ↓
Goonhavern Pre-SchoolGoonhavern Primary School

Our Governing Body

Martin Davis

Chair of Governors 

Ken Yeo 

Vice Chair and LA Governor

Rachael Hatch

Interim Headteacher

James Kennedy

Co-opted Governor

Martin Borrott

Staff Governor

Edd Bissenden

Parent Governor

Liz Van Lingen

Parent Governor

Sonya Herbert

Co-opted Governor

Tom Hyde

Co-opted Governor


Clerk to the Governors

Martin Davis

My name is Martin Davis, I am currently Chair of the Governing Body at Goonhavern
School. I have been a co-opted member of the Governing Body since 2021.
I am recently retired from work as medical consultant at the Royal Cornwall Hospital.
I commenced work there in 1991, in that work I had a passion for life-long learning
and held numerous roles, such as Director of Medical Education and Associate
Postgraduate Dean, allowing me to influence that aim.

I have 4 children (all now adults) who experienced their education at primary and
secondary schools in Cornwall. I have 3 grandchildren whom I’m sure will be
educated in Cornwall. I wish to put past experiences, both good and bad, of mine,
my children and in the future my grandchildren to help improve the experience of
children and parents in the way they are educated and influenced by their time spent
or associated with Goonhavern School.

I am keen that the school and its Governing Body are open and transparent in
decision making. Its important that we are open to hearing views so please tell us
about the good things the school is achieving and areas that you think can be
improved. We can’t promise to deliver all your wishes but we can promise to listen.